Googly Eyes

Googly Eyes

There are many great mysteries in life: the true purpose of Stonehenge, the origin of the monolithic statues of Easter Island and whether or not we are alone in the universe. But perhaps the greatest mystery of them all is who invented the googly eye.

“What could be more interesting,” I thought to myself, “than writing about the origin of the googly eye in my very first blog post about stuff that I like?” The obvious answer was nothing. Nothing could be more interesting than the origin of the googly eye.

So, in preparation for one of the most enlightening blog entries ever, I began to search the World Wide Web for information about googly eyes and found absolutely nada. I even searched the US Patent database. The closest match I could find was an “Attention Diverter for Camera,” filed by Elizabeth M. Heinzelmann on April 29, 1987.

But I digress. Googly eyes. 

As a last-ditch effort to wow readers with completely useless information, I turned to Wikipedia for help. Surely someone somewhere possessed privileged information about the origin of the googly eye that he or she wanted to share with the world via a collaborative, volunteer written, multilingual, web-based, free-content encyclopaedia. But, yet again, I was met with disappointment. In spite of having been edited six times alone this past month, the most interesting thing I found on Wikipedia’s entry for “googly eyes” was a picture of a Muppet wearing a Korn t-shirt.

Dejected, I finally decided that where googly eyes came from is not important. What is important is that googly eyes qualify as stuff I like. At least, it is important as far as this blog is concerned.

11 Responses to “Googly Eyes”


  1. 1 tim February 19, 2009 at 10:55 am

    from what ive seen on 4 websites (ive forgotten links) Billy De Beck invented them.

  2. 2 Megan February 23, 2009 at 12:25 pm

    I believe that Billy De Beck was credited as having first drawn the googly eye. However, I am specifically looking for the inventor of the plastic craft supply.

  3. 3 Mike February 26, 2009 at 11:26 am

    Hey, I got an product you might interested which exact look like your illustration~! 🙂
    http://www.mikemak.com/mike/main_2.php?id=11

  4. 4 bright1mike March 24, 2009 at 6:49 pm

    The Monoliths or “Moai” are actually only standing on Easter Island dure to recent archeological efforts. The statues were originally torn down during civil war which ravaged the island.
    The original inhabitants of the island erected the statues as some sort of signal to the rest of the world trying to attract people to the island. After so many years with no response the inhabitants, known as the “Rapa Nui”, believed that they were the only people on earth. At the peak of their civilization their population exceeded 10,000 which significantly diminished their resources. They couldn’t build boats to explore or fish and they farmed the land bare. This is when they resorted to cannibalism and civil war. Civil war because the royal family was eating everyone. Mystery solved.

  5. 5 rachel December 28, 2009 at 6:50 pm

    I am a huge fan of googly eyes and made an IPhone app called Googly You. You can add googly eye’s to any picture. Thought you might want to check it out http://bit.ly/8cYcKw

  6. 6 Megan Huddleston October 13, 2013 at 12:44 pm

    This is just hilarious to me – my name is also Megan, I also love googly eyes, and find myself suddenly NEEDING to know who invented googly eyes and when! I can’t believe the information isn’t on the web, though after a good amount of searching I have also found nothing. Any updates?

  7. 7 Megan February 25, 2014 at 10:16 pm

    Alas, I have no updates on goggly eyes. You’d think that would be something a person would brag about inventing, but I guess this is not so with the genius behind this.

  8. 8 Megan Huddleston February 26, 2014 at 12:58 pm

    That’s just nutters. This is one of the greatest mysteries I’ve ever encountered..

  9. 9 Keira September 2, 2014 at 2:38 pm

    Hello there! Quick question that’s completely off topic.
    Do you know how to make your site mobile friendly? My site looks
    weird when browsing from my iphone4. I’m trying to find a template or plugin that might be able to fix this issue.
    If you have any recommendations, please share.
    With thanks!

  10. 10 Best place to buy facebook likes October 10, 2014 at 10:27 pm

    Woah! I’m really enjoying the template/theme of this blog.
    It’s simple, yet effective. A lot of times it’s hard to get
    that “perfect balance” between usability and appearance. I must say you’ve done a awesome
    job with this. Also, the blog loads very fast for me on Firefox.
    Superb Blog!

  11. 11 poop March 19, 2017 at 3:05 pm

    Hey megan you shouldnt give up so easily. Your writing is good maybe even flawless. But giving up that easy sucks. You should dive deeper into the mystery. Common sense, process of elimination and what i like to call conductive reasoning may help. I first thought, what would you need googly eyes for ? And then what do you put them on? Probobly on a doll. So googly eyes must have been used on dolls to give them a more life like appearance. Only filthy rich people probably knew what they were sense they were the only ones who could afford these life like pieces of shit. Then some smart ass had the brilliant idea of puting them on anything cause it would make anything appear to be life like. Some of the first googly eyes probobly had mercury in them for some fucked up reason. This also probobly aided to psychoticness of rich scum bags who kept all the money to the blood line and never shared with the rest of the world. Man who would of thought that googly eyes and felt hats packed with mercury were tge culprits in what helped aid the developement of the american brat bastard.


Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 25,660 hits

Pages

January 2009
M T W T F S S
    Feb »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Meganparty Twitter

  • Sometimes the noises my dog makes at night, while he is sleeping, sound like dolphins trying to communicate. 8 hours ago
  • How can I get any work done when I know there is a robot, programmed to make deliveries, somewhere in the building? 17 hours ago
  • Realizing the Chinese had been in the fridge too long & that eating it had been mistake.. Then explaining your error, bluntly, to your boss. 1 week ago
  • Note to self: typography is not as much of a captivating party conversation for others as it is for me. 3 weeks ago
  • Tim Hortons doing Roll Up the Rim twice in one year just makes me twice as much of a loser. #RollUp150 4 weeks ago

