Boy Bands

ap_nkotb_080403_ssh

There is no denying it: they just don’t make boy bands the way they used to. It breaks my heart to say it, but the boy band is simply a dying art. And, with Lou Pearlman in jail for money laundering, fraud and making false statements, it seems the boy band is not likely to make a comeback any time soon.

But what about the Joni [plural of Jonas]? I hear you ask. The Joni do not count as a boy band for several reasons. Firstly, they are brothers, and everyone knows that boy bands are manufactured. Secondly, I am confident that they shape their eyebrows. I am not saying that there is anything wrong with males paying attention to their physical appearance; I am just saying that there is a fine line between necessary grooming and being mistaken for that keyboard-playing girl from Hanson.

But I digress.

Boy bands will always occupy a special place in my heart. In fact, I still have a Donnie Whalberg doll back from my New Kids on the Block hysteria in the early 90s. Unfortunately, somewhere along his travels, Donnie Whalberg seems to have lost his pants. Now he hauntingly stares at me from the top shelf of my bookcase, sporting nothing but a black wifebeater, built-in undergarments and a rat tail.

Actually, now that I think about it, maybe it is better that boy bands are a thing of the past.

*Please note that I do realize the “keyboard-playing girl from Hanson” is actually a dude.

5 Responses to “Boy Bands”


  1. 1 nancyamills February 7, 2009 at 1:24 am

    I agree Megan. Boy bands are not what they used to be. Bringing up the topic of boy bands and brothers reminds me of a old favourite boy band named “Bros.” http://www.thebubbleburst.co.uk/bb.php?entry=Bros Now you may not remember them but it was a band of three boys, two of them being brothers. (hence the “bros” title) But they too were well groomed. Perhaps boy bands were the start of the metrosexual? Something to consider.

  2. 2 eauger1 February 8, 2009 at 2:46 am

    I love boy bands. I have made up many dances to so many boy band songs I can’t count them all. I remember arguing with my friends who was better Backstreet Boys or N’SYNC. I think that really they were both just copying New Kids on the Block. Step by Step oo baby, gonna get to you girl…..Its amazing.

  3. 3 nkowalchuk February 8, 2009 at 5:06 pm

    I have to say it, I was a huge Hanson fan… I had every album, including their Christmas album and 2 Hanson t-shirts…. Unfortunately I have misplaced all my Hanson Paraphernalia now. I wish I still had it because I would throw on an old school Hanson t-shirt and go out in public to see the reactions… The Key board playing girl you referred to was Taylor Hanson, the middle brother (yes, he was a boy).. Now that you mention it, I miss hearing mmmbop on the radio…. They just don’t make quality music like that anymore…haha

  4. 4 Linda Camus February 22, 2009 at 7:25 pm

    What about the Monkees? Aren’t they one of the original boy bands?

  5. 5 Megan February 23, 2009 at 12:20 pm

    I spent a lot of time debating whether or not to include the Monkees in this post. I think the Monkees were the original boy band. However, I consider them to be in a different category than today’s boy bands. The Monkees did not have any contrived dance routines (thank god), and the Monkees seemed to possess a sense of humour. The boy bands of the 90s took themselves too seriously.


Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 25,660 hits

Pages

February 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
232425262728  

Meganparty Twitter

  • Sometimes the noises my dog makes at night, while he is sleeping, sound like dolphins trying to communicate. 8 hours ago
  • How can I get any work done when I know there is a robot, programmed to make deliveries, somewhere in the building? 17 hours ago
  • Realizing the Chinese had been in the fridge too long & that eating it had been mistake.. Then explaining your error, bluntly, to your boss. 1 week ago
  • Note to self: typography is not as much of a captivating party conversation for others as it is for me. 3 weeks ago
  • Tim Hortons doing Roll Up the Rim twice in one year just makes me twice as much of a loser. #RollUp150 4 weeks ago

