Kraft Dinner

Kraft dinner is a staple in many households. For some, nothing is better than this box full of macaroni and powder that vaguely resembles cheese. 

What few people know is that Kraft Dinner first debuted in 1937. Sam Kraft introduced the product during WWII, a tumultuous time when many foods were rationed, dairy and meat in particular. In 1975, the product was revamped when Kraft launched a new shape of noodle, the spiral. In 1988, a wheel-shaped noodle was unveiled to meet the public’s insatiable demand for noodle variety. The 90s brought with them many innovations for Kraft Dinner: noodles shaped like popular children’s characters and variations of the traditional “cheese sauce,” such as Cheesy Alfredo, Deluxe Four Cheese, Light Deluxe and Premium White.

After delving into the plethora of Kraft Dinner facts available on the World Wide Web, I learned that Canadians are the world’s largest consumer of Kraft Dinner per capita. Having eaten some Kraft Dinner myself this very day, I cannot say that I am surprised by this fact.

I blame the Barenaked Ladies.

2 Responses to “Kraft Dinner”


  1. 1 Linda Camus February 22, 2009 at 7:24 pm

    In college I bought a case of Kraft Dinner. I ate it .. every day. I cannot eat Kraft Dinner any more, I can’t even smell it.

  2. 2 Supermom February 25, 2009 at 4:48 pm

    Eating Kraft Dinner must have something to do with the Canadian culture… because even if I am been living in Canada for almost 10 years and I am now a Canadian citizen (since 2007), I still don’t understand this part of your culture??? But may be it is because I have never try to eat some Kraft Dinner…


Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 25,673 hits

Pages

February 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
232425262728  

Meganparty Twitter

  • Good morning! It's Mond... Tuesday! It's Tuesday! 19 hours ago
  • My niece and I decided that the number one rule of ukulele band is "don't get snot on your ukulele." It is grounds for immediate dismissal. 3 days ago
  • @JamothyGroves I do spend a lot of time watching scary poo... 6 days ago
  • My phone just autocorrected Scooby Doo to Scary Poo. 1 week ago
  • I read the endings of books first because I need to know how emotionally invested to get in the characters. 1 week ago

