Music from the Early ’90s

dancemix1
I just can’t help it; I am still having a somewhat disturbing love affair with the terrible techno-like dance music that was so prevalent from 1991 to 1994. As an impressionable youth, I remember waiting with anticipation each year for MuchMusic’s official Dance Mix compilation to be released (on cassette tape no less). 

markymark
Do you remember when Mark Whalberg was known simply as Marky Mark? I do. The poor young man (who appeared to be allergic to clothing) genuinely believed in the longevity of his music career. But where did the Funky Bunch go? A better question still, who were the Funky Bunch?

And lest we forget OPP? No matter how many times Naughty By Nature tried to explain it to me, it was not until the invention of the Urban Dictionary that I realized I was not down with it

My love of this musical “era” even briefly inspired me to try to revive the Tag Team’s musical career. “Whoomp! There it is!” I would shout whenever the chance arose. As the Tag Team have not had an astounding come back, it is safe to assume my attempts failed. 

But do not weep for these musical groups of yore, for they are not lost to us. They live on.. in my bedroom.. when I play their music and sing to myself in the mirror while doing the running-man.

7 Responses to “Music from the Early ’90s”


  1. 1 carmelina316 February 23, 2009 at 10:46 pm

    It lives in my bedroom too!
    classic dance moves will always be a hit in my book

  2. 2 theskinnyonlinney February 26, 2009 at 2:13 pm

    That is hilarious, I so was a fan myself and still have a few of those tapes in my posession. In elementary school at my first dance it was all about knowing the cool songs and making up your own move to bust to. I am however thankful that for techno house beats today, they are a little bit more intense and do not have artists with as many loser names like Marky Mark.
    From Emily Emily

  3. 3 Sarah February 28, 2009 at 10:29 pm

    Dear M. Groves
    Although I am not as keen on music of the ’90s as you are, that does not deter me from suggesting a dance-off. Do the Spice Girls count as ’90s music? If so, I feel much more acquainted with the genre.
    Dust off your velour
    Sarah

  4. 4 Megan February 28, 2009 at 11:29 pm

    Watch it, Todd. You don’t want to start something you might come to regret.
    The velour needs no dusting. I keep it in a garment bag.
    Don’t forget, I am the unofficial dance-off champion of all of North Bay – maybe even the world.
    And the Spice Girls? Please…

  5. 5 optimistblogger March 5, 2009 at 12:02 am

    Ladies, this post is too funny. Can I get in on a dance off? Only, I’m gonna jump a year later, and say that I LOVED dance mix ’95…so if we can include that in the mix, I’ll bring my glowsticks and away we’ll go. We all remember the Macarena, right? Let me know how you feel about that. If not, I can spice up my life”, OR I can feel the Good Vibrations. Either way…I think it’s on. Although, Megan, unofficial dance-off champ of North Bay? That’s pretty intimidating.

    Joanna

  6. 6 cweat March 18, 2009 at 6:43 pm

    I admit I also love pulling out the old much music dance mix’s from time to time, especially 95’s Whigfield’s Saturday Night a dee dee na na na…

  7. 7 kymmer3 March 21, 2009 at 6:41 pm

    Oh Megan, Megan, Megan. I am going to miss reading your blog. Honestly, 90% of them I can’t help but laugh out loud. You have a way with words! haha.

    I would just like to say, the running-man is not dead! Lol. Many of my friends, myself included, when we are in one of those moods you can’t help but bust out the running-man! I still have all those dance mixes, I just can’t seem to part with them lol.


Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 25,673 hits

Pages

February 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
232425262728  

Meganparty Twitter

  • Good morning! It's Mond... Tuesday! It's Tuesday! 19 hours ago
  • My niece and I decided that the number one rule of ukulele band is "don't get snot on your ukulele." It is grounds for immediate dismissal. 3 days ago
  • @JamothyGroves I do spend a lot of time watching scary poo... 6 days ago
  • My phone just autocorrected Scooby Doo to Scary Poo. 1 week ago
  • I read the endings of books first because I need to know how emotionally invested to get in the characters. 1 week ago

