Singing (to myself)

When driving, I like to play my music so loud that I can feel the vibration in my chest.

My car is where I do my best singing.
The shower is where I do my second best work.

Ask anyone in my family, they will confirm both of the prior statements to be fact. Well, maybe not that my singing is of any real quality, but that my car and shower are where my operatic performances most frequently take place.

My brother gets embarrassed when I sing while we are in the car together. Maybe this is because I slow the vehicle, roll down all of the windows and put the song “Tell Him” by Celine Dion and Barbara Streisand on repeat and sing for all I am worth to any pedestrians we happen upon. I do not play Celine Dion and Barbara Streisand because I enjoy the song, rather I enjoy the way my brother’s face slowly turns red and how he tries to melt into the passengers seat in an attempt to ensure that no one he knows will see him in such an embarrassing situation.

I make sure they see him though. That is why I sing extra loud. My voice is as enchanting as a siren’s call. At least, that’s what I tell myself when everyone stops and looks at me.

5 Responses to “Singing (to myself)”


  1. 1 victoriavangilst March 21, 2009 at 11:04 pm

    Yes. I totally turn my music up in the car and belt out lyrics. Sometimes I am singing so loud that I can hear my pitchy voice and I sing a little lower. Most times I do not care who hears me. And I agree that the best ideas do come when in the shower. I do not know why that is. It is a good place to recite thigns and sing as well.
    Sometimes when I am not singing in my car I watch other people while I am at a stop light and if they are singing I laugh a bit. But then I think about all the people who watch me when I am in my moment.
    I think seeing someone sing is better than seeing someone picking their nose. Haha

  2. 2 lauren6jones March 22, 2009 at 8:16 pm

    I agree. There is no better time to become a “rock star” than when you’re driving in the car. It can be embarrassing, though when I’m so caught up in a song at an intersection, and I’m “caught in the act.” I would be one of those people that Victoria laughs at.

  3. 3 kaitcarroll44 March 22, 2009 at 8:40 pm

    Hahaha. Meg, I agree! There is no better place to sing than in the shower or in the car. Although I feel as though I perform better in the shower (I think it has something to do with the acoustics). One of my favourite sing-a-long C.D.’s is the Disney soundtrack. I love belting out the lyrics to Mulan’s ‘Let’s get down to Business…to defeat the huns. Did they send me daughters when I asked for sons? You’re the laziest bunch Ive ever met, but you can bet before we’re through, mister I’ll make a man out of youuuu.
    Sorry, once I start it’s hard to stop. Haha. Great post, Meg.

  4. 4 bicks1 March 22, 2009 at 11:36 pm

    It never fails, your randomness and hilarious comments always make my day. haha I was actually skeptical to start carpooling with Megs Brady because that would mean I couldn’t belt out the beats in the morning on the way to school. I agree with all of your statements… car is definitely the best place to rock out. But I do it when I’m alone, not with my brother!

  5. 5 Adam Maiolo March 22, 2009 at 11:50 pm

    Are you kidding me??? Shower time IS concert time! It is a perfect storm for singing. You have the sound of the water drowning you out from anyone else hearing you. AND, in my case, my shower head is positioned directly where a microphone should be positioned. So this helps me get even deeper into the role.

    As for car singing. Well my car volume is usually at 28/33 for volume. So that is pretty loud! Just yesterday me and my friend were waiting for the doors to open at a Gaslight Anthem concert. SO what did we do? Car Jam!! It is amazing the amount of sounds you can create with a car. We had random tapping, horn honking, signal clicking, windshield wiping and dashboard drumming going in harmony! it was amazing. Plus I even began to flicker the interior lights on/off to set ambience.


Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 25,657 hits

Pages

March 2009
M T W T F S S
« Feb   May »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Meganparty Twitter


