An Ode to Hamilton

I see him, without fail, each time I take the dogs for an evening stroll. “If ever someone were to eat 80% of my face,” I think to myself, “it would be you.” When we pass, I look him right in the eye (just one though) to make sure that he knows that I know he is not to be trusted.

Hamilton is a city defined by its people. The thing is that its people are so magically diverse that there is no real way to define it at all.

My apartment building itself is filled with a mixture of the hopeful and hopeless. It was built sometime in the early 20s, meant to house Hamilton’s rich and famous. I like to imagine what it might have looked like in its day. As I walk through the halls, I hear the voice of Ron Burgandy echoing in my head, or maybe I am actually hearing it from someone’s TV. Regardless, Burgandy says, “I have many leather-bound books and my apartment smells of rich mahogany.” If mahogany smells anything like marijuana, Ron Burgandy’s apartment and my apartment building have much in common.

Having been born and raised in a city Hamilton adjacent – one that prides itself on being both morally and economically superior to its blue collar neighbour – I have found myself surprisingly fond of my new home. I like it here.

“It’s not as bad as you think,” I once told a friend.

“You should take that to the tourism office. I think you just found a new slogan. Hamilton: it’s not as bad as you think.”

But, seriously, it’s not as bad as you think.

0 Responses to “An Ode to Hamilton”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 25,660 hits

Pages

June 2012
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Jul »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Meganparty Twitter

  • Sometimes the noises my dog makes at night, while he is sleeping, sound like dolphins trying to communicate. 8 hours ago
  • How can I get any work done when I know there is a robot, programmed to make deliveries, somewhere in the building? 17 hours ago
  • Realizing the Chinese had been in the fridge too long & that eating it had been mistake.. Then explaining your error, bluntly, to your boss. 1 week ago
  • Note to self: typography is not as much of a captivating party conversation for others as it is for me. 3 weeks ago
  • Tim Hortons doing Roll Up the Rim twice in one year just makes me twice as much of a loser. #RollUp150 4 weeks ago

